Tuesday, 28 February 2012

SMS Enquiry

A passenger can also check the status of IRCTC reservations through mobile phone and landline phone. Checking IRCTC PNR status via SMS is undoubtedly a handy and quick way. Indian Railway introduced the SMS service to provide a simple way to check IRCTC PNR status using mobile phones. All a passenger needs to do is send an SMS on 57886 through his/her mobile phone to get any kind of information on railways.
The SMS facility provides various ways to perform enquiries like train alert, IRCTC PNR status, train status, seat availability, train schedule, train information, train time table, train fare etc offered on the Indian Railways website. Now one can view such information on a mobile phone through SMS facility.
To receive a list of available SMS commands, simply send TRAIN to 5676747. You will get a reply similar to, "Welcome to railzone. Reply with PNR - PNR Status, TL - Train List, TA - Ticket Availability, e.g sms PNR to get PNR status." Now to check your IRCTC reservation status, send a SMS "PNR <your PNR number>" without the double quotes to 5676747. For example, PNR 1234567891. You will get a reply similar to, "PNR No. 1234567891 , 1. RAC 33, 2. Confirmed AS2 34, 2952 Mumbai Rajdhani, New Delhi - Kota, 17 Aug".
For more information on the mobile service providers and the keywords to be used in SMS, you can visit one of the pages below:
Alternatively you can call 139 from your BSNL, MTNL, Airtel, Vodafone etc landlines. Most telecom service providers support 139. If you have internet connection at home, you will probably prefer to go online to check IRCTC PNR status of your railway reservation. The advantage is that you do not need to pay any SMS or call charges. Another advantage is that you can quickly print / email the reservation status.

PNR Status Explained
It is easy for railway passengers to confuse the different legends that appear on their reservation tickets or PNR status. The table below explains the various legends used by Indian Railways to communicate PNR status in brief.
Cancelled or Modified
Confirmed (Coach and berth number are assigned after chart preparation)
Tatkal quota
Tatkal waiting list (different from normal waiting list, which when moves up goes to RAC category, whereas a passenger gets a confirmed berth when a CKWL moves up)
Reservation against Cancellation
WL #
Waiting List number
Remote Location Wait List
General Wait List
Pooled Quota Wait List
No more booking is permitted
Ticket not cancelled, but alternative accommodation provided
R # #
RAC coach number and berth number


  1. hello if you have a luxury summer vacation in india visit at Maharaja Express i hope you enjoyed the summer vacation.

  2. Excellent info given glad to read a great article. If you are planning for luxury train travel then Book Maharaja Express Online.

  3. Excellent info given glad to read a great article. If you are planning for luxury train travel then Book Maharaja Express Online.